TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are the role model of their students. Whether they should make their social or political views known to students is a controversial issue. Some people are inclined to the idea that teachers should express their social and political views to students. Others have exactly the opposite point of view. I firmly concur with the argument and assert that students should keep their students away from their social or political thoughts.

First point to take in consideration is the rational use of classes time. The prime role of teachers is to transfer knowledge to students about academic topics. Therefore, if they going to talk about social and political topics while giving lectures, will takes the valuable time of the class.Some may argue that, an important role of teachers is to shape the future of students, that can not justify wasting their time discussing other topics. It`s best for both students and teachers to focus on academic lectures rather than to have conversations about social or politic subjects.

Another aspect to point out is the immaturity of students. Usually youth are not mature enough to distinguish between the right things. As a result if their teachers tell them about their personal social and political views that will influence their thoughts. An article in a recent news paper says that 80% of students who had politic or social discussion with their teachers are most likely to adapt the same point of views as them. It`s is better to let students discover the social and political world by themselves in the right time.

In conclusion, teachers should focus only on how they can increase their students performance in school rather than to waste their time and influence their thought by useless social and political discussions.