TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone has their own different point of view about social or political issue and teachers are no exception to it. But is it correct to share their views with students in the classroom? Some people think that it is not a right thing to do as it might lead to a controversy or it may even misguide a student. On the other hand, I believe in the idea that is a rival of the former statement and I believe so because of the following reasons.

To begin with, students now are more intelligent and smart to decide between wrong and right. In early days, though, students were quite intelligent but they were naïve as they did not have the opportunity to get exposed to the world and attain information about almost everything like students have now and thus they used to believe on everything said by a teacher. However, in the modern world due to the facilities such as computer, internet and TV one has access to unlimited source of information for an instance. My fifteen year old son has more knowledge on various political and social issues than I have. He even won first prize recently in a general knowledge competition. That is why; it would be incorrect to determine that students now are dependent on teachers for information and will believe anything to what they say.

In addition, our country provides a freedom of speech and expression to every citizen, there is no restriction on anyone. People have a right to share their opinion with others about anything with anyone and teachers are included in it for example recently there was a student in J.N.U named Kanaiya that protested against Indian constitution and Prime Minister. He wanted to misguide other students residing at the campus and merge them in his group. However, he could not get success as all the students knew that what he was doing was wrong and against the law. So, no one supported him and eventually he was imprisoned. In contrast, teachers are very responsible and wise to decide what piece of information has to be shared with students so it is very unlikely to doubt that teachers can affect a student negatively through his/her opinion. Moreover, they are not the only source of information, if a person wants to know something then there are so many means to collect it. Hence, it is absolutely up to a student whether he wants to perceive and follow some particular knowledge or a piece of advice or not.

To recapitulate, I would say that it is not just confine to political or social issues; in fact, it could be information about anything and from anywhere. Therefore it one’s responsibility to teach young generation what is right and what is wrong and make them comprehend that world is full of people who might misguide them. But they should be strong and wise as not to get distracted and pursue what they believe is right.