TPO-23 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.Use specific reasons an

I do not agree with the above statement. Living in a modern world where things are developing fast and changes take place from time to time, it seems that time and efficiency is the first priority. Nonetheless, today's world is so complex, connected and competitive that mistakes are almost intolerable, and we should be aware of the fact that speed is not efficiency.

To begin with, it has always been a misconception that speed is desired. Students are required to finish homework and tests in a limited time, engineering projects are expected to be accomplished with speed. These days, the importance of speed cannot be more emphasized, but this notion no longer fit modern world. People want things to be done well, rather that quickly. Being quick is only one of the many aspects to do things well, and it is definitely not the most important aspect.

What is more, the development of science and technology has provided human with much power that has to be handled cautiously. For example, the construction of an airplane requires quality and precision, instead of speed. The faster the project goes, the more likely that mistakes would occur. In an airplane, even the slightest error could lead to a catastrophe. So, in such industries that require high level of technology, work fast and ignore mistakes is undoubtedly unwise.

Last but not least, taking the risk of mistakes could also be disadvantage for individuals. As cooperation becomes a vital concept in today's world, few people work by themselves. It seems that those who work quickly are ideal to work with, but speed does not necessarily mean efficiency. In fact, cooperation is vulnerable to errors. A single mistake in one' s work can affect others', and this mistake can be difficult to figure out. Thus, working rapidly can backfire, making it harder to work with others.

In conclusion, though the pursuit for speed has been long and has become even more strengthened in today's world, working fast and taking risk making mistakes at the same is actually unwise and dangerous, for it could lead to the opposite. Instead of doing things better, it may result accidents and even disasters, and can also impede individual development.