TPO 24

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, in the sophisticated day and age we observe, it is established beyond doubt that children future lives are of importance. That being said, it should not be far-fetched to find some controversy and debate surrounding some of its aspects, namely how parents should prepare their children for adult life. One popular opinion regarding this issue states that encouraging them to take a part-time job, parents can help them prepare for adult life. I personally concur with this opinion. In what follows, I will pinpoint some the most outstanding reasons.

One exquisite reason coming to mind is that in a competitive world we are living, the future job has gained much importance. Encouraging children to take a part-time job in their summer holiday, parents can provide them with more practical skills which are much more essential for their future career and also choosing their major as well. In this way, children can figure out their field of real interest and can pay more attention and focus on it and improve it in the best way. (There might be some differences between what you expect of a job and the reality). A new research conducted at the University of Tehran found out that 85% of the individuals who had taken a part-time job when they were a child are successful in their new adult life than who had not taken that. This clearly substantiates the idea that parents have a more significant role in guiding their child and paving their way by putting them in this way by acknowledge them a benefit of part-time working for their future.

Another significant reason which deserves some words here is that children taking a part-time job in their childhood can better perceive the worth of time which is a substantial item in every one life. Time management is a crucial ability in adult life, as adults need to have a balance between their job, and their personal life. When they have to study and work even as a part-time job, they can better understand how precious time is. They learn how to manage their time and devoted it to study and work. By this ability, hardly do they waste their time on doing something unnecessary and worthless.

The final important reason to take into consideration is such jobs provide teenage children with an opportunity to become fully or partially economically independent. Working part-time, children can learn how to manage their budget in the future which plays a crucial role in their life. This a good practice for them to spend their money more logically and neither squanders money anymore nor asks others for money. As the result, it can help them a lot in their adulthood, as they can rely on themselves financially. Having practice money management in childhood, children can have an edge over others who did not take a part-time job in their childhood.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that taking a part-time job prepare student for a more prosperous and successful life. Besides, it provides them a better understanding of the importance of time and money value. So a great suggestion to parents is that encourage their children to take a part-time job provided that their future successfulness is of important for them.