TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

Nowadays it is popular for parents to encourage their teenager children to take a part-time job because this is good for preparing for adult life. I believe that it is a good idea that parents encourage their teenage children to work on a part-time job in order to prepare for adult life. I think this approach benefits adolescents in multiple aspects.

First of all, taking a part-time job promotes financial independence that is a trait of responsible adult. Youngster who worked as a part-time or casual employee has an opportunity to manage income and expense, which entails extra experience with personal finance after grown up. A recently study shows that adults who had a job as a part-time worker develop financial independence earlier that those who did not. Adults with work experience in adolescence develop financial independence in two years after entering an occupation; by contrast, adults with out former working experience before a job manage finance after five years in job. Therefore, a job in adolescence prepares teenagers sufficiently into adulthood.

Moreover, teenagers learn to handle interpersonal relationship by taking a job in adolescence. The competent of dealing with colleagues in and after work contributes to a successful career in adulthood. Teenagers who worked in a job are better prepared for facing the fierce collision and maintaining interpersonal ralationship with coworkers than those who did not. For example, I have never worked before my graduation and I found it is difficult to form a good relationship with colleagues. However, one of my colleagues who worked on several part-time jobs got along well with others.

In summary, I agree with the proposal that parents should support their adolescent children in taking a part-time job to prepare for adult life afterward. One benefit of this approach is that teenagers develop financial independence by earning an income with job, and another benefit is that adolescents learnt how to manage interpersonal relationship by dealing with colleagues.