TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

There is a controversial debate on whether the children should take a job to become prepared for adult life or not. Some hold the view that it will prevent them from their main goal such as educational prosperity, while others dispute their idea by some reasons. I tend to support the later view and the bases for my view are personal, social and financial.

Personally, it is essential to know that success does not define only in educational purposes. Although the children have to focus on their study, by taking a part-time job they can achieve abundant valuable skills and experiences. For example, in mechanical engineering most the student start to work soon after entering the university. Not only do they become acquainted with their course practically, but also they get ready for their future job. However some define success as an external concept to be measured by high educational degrees, part-time working gives you the expertise that you will not gain otherwise.

Socially-speaking, we live in an interdependent world which imposes its obligations on us. Soon or late, children are to prepare for starting adult life in which they are in contact with others. They should learn group-working, speaking in public, demanding their rights and most importantly, responsibility. Otherwise, they cannot be successful in the future. Take my brother for instance who commenced to work from 20. He debt his job success to knowledge gained from working coupled with studying which would not have been possible otherwise. Albeit my mother disagreed those days, my father encouraged him to work.

From a financial angle, there is no doubt that financial independence plays an integral role in preparing individuals for future life. By the mean of part-time working, youngsters become partially independent and also learn how to manage their budget. In spite of the fact that parents will continue to support them financially, they can constrain the pocket money in order to teach them how to manage their financial problems either for themselves or for their family. Moreover, in this way children perceive that they have to make a lot of endeavors to get their goals. For instance, I was a kind of lavish child before starting to work but after a short while working, I realized that how difficult the money will be saved. So I ceased to spend a lot and started to save my salary.

In a nutshell, aside from working experiences, part-time working gives children the opportunity to enhance their social skills and also to solve their financial problems personally. Hence, I am convinced that part-time working has more merits than demerits and it worth doing.