TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Perhaps, few subjects are as controversial as a comparison between the past values with the contemporary moral concepts. There has been a perception that old days people were concerned, more than contemporary generations, with the volunteerism activities. While I believe it can not be generalized to all cases, I tend to agree with a growing tendency toward egoism based on the following concerns in an overall view‏.

The first thing that springs to mind is that youngsters have involved in a busier lifestyle. In fact, due to the fast pace of life, people should work harder and for a longer time to overcome their financial obstacles. In the past, people lived in the society which working cooperatively and tasks allocation allowed them to have more leisure time. However, changes result from the competitive labor markets and fears of losing job have made people more involve in compulsory tasks which, not surprisingly, they do not have enough time to take part in charities done‏.

Needless to say, there is a surging trend which youngsters have the inclination to be more self-centered. In the past, informal community and family cohesion were regarded as the most important term that people always turned into them if they encountered with both emotional and monetary problems. However, with the advent of materialism concepts, people become more greed to benefit only themselves instead of being solidarity. The obvious example of this trend can be those producers who allure people with an inaccurate account of information about their outcomes to gain a higher profit margin. Admittedly, individuals are indifferent to others' interests and meanwhile, their relationship become transient and superficial not only with their peers but also with community and its related issue‏.

Despite the decline in volunteerism, some roles of government in young population's encouragement to participate them in the altruistic movement should not be overlooked. Compared to the past, people have a deep understanding of different communal subjects like air pollution, global warming, and green environment. In this regard, there has been a wide range of campaigns which beneficently have performed to combat these necessary topics. However, growing population requires more and effective people's intervention to be considered as a satisfactory level of altruism.

From what have been discussed, people's apathy toward community is one of the most conspicuous trends in the 21th century. As it was mentioned, not only lack of time spare time but also change in youngsters' characteristic are liable for young people disinclination toward being a volunteer to society's problem. However, in order to keep pace with a high demand for altruism, the government need to take serious steps.