TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is no doubt that nowadays people have aware of the importance of communities which are crucial for the society. However, most people argue that people are too busy to help communities. I totally agree with the point, especially when the heavy burden of study and the Internet are concerned.

To begin with, young people have to pay attention on study and they cannot spare much time on communities. Because in the modern world, it is impossible to own a good job without at least a bachelor’s degree, thus they are forced to study all the time. Unlike young people now, people in the past have much available opportunities to serve their communities. For example, when Jobs dropped out of university forty years ago, he had enough time to do what he wanted so it is no wonder he could spare time to help communities. But for young students now, on the contrary, they concentrate all the time on study or there is no job for them.

Moreover, the Internet has taken up most of young people’s free time. Due to the highly developed technology, people can use various ways to waste their time such as smart phones, computers and laptops which are convenient to communicate with friends, look for news and play games wherever they want. Comparing with helping communities, they do not need to pay attention and waste lots of time. And according to a research by the Peking University, students waste most of their free time on smart phones unlike thirty years ago when young often did communities together. So there is no wonder that young do not have time to do communities.

Admittedly, some young indeed help their communities according to regulations of some schools. These schools have aware of this situation and they force students to engage in community service during vacations. However, if students are required to finish what they do not like, most will choose to pay no attention on communities not alone in fact the time is limit.

For the aforementioned ground, although some students are committed to community service due to the policy of the school, I firmly believe it is impossible for young to spare time on communities until their time is not fulfilled with study or the Internet.