TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays a vast part of population tends to claim that a young generation does not give an adequate volume of time to helping their communities. Although some people may not agree with the stance, I am prone to buttress it because of the reasons which will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, today's social life has moved from backyards and streets of local communities in the internet and social networks. The web has saturated all levels of our existence and a majority of contemporaries start their day by looking at their Facebook pages, Twitter accounts and checking their e-mails. The online social life has become even more important that offline interaction. In fact, many urban dwellers who live in blocks of flats do not know their neighbors' at all. They feed detached from communities in which they live. By contrast, our predecessors who did not have social networks paid a lot of attention to interaction with neighbors. This change has led to the fact that young people tend to neglect by their duties to communities and do not devote even a miniscule amount of time to helping their neighbors.

Secondly, today's young adults and youngsters are too busy and simply cannot devote enough time to their communities. An average student, for instance, has to study a bunch of difficult subjects; and a pile of information which they ought to read and understand for becoming professionals keeps growing. A young person who works in a business or government structure has to work up to 12 hours per day in a hope to be promoted or to get a pay raise; needless to say that they keep studying and working at home as well. By contrast, in the past when our parents were young adults, our fathers who worked in mills, automaker plants had a steady eight-hours work day with an appreciable salary; they rights were properly protected and supervised by government structures. Additionally to it, the size of the wages allowed our young mothers did not work and devote their time to helping communities.

Admittedly, there are some reasons which may allow a person to state that contemporary young people give sufficient time to their communities. Chiefly, the person may aver that today some programs exist which are aimed at helping local communities and some students volunteer their time to it; we read about them in newspapers and blogs. However, I still affirm my prospect because those youngsters do not represent the entire society; they are only a small percentage of young people. We tend to see them as a significant movement inasmuch as they are promoted by mass media and social networks but it is only illusion which does not reflect reality. By contrast, in the past helping others was a huge trend and almost all people participated to it.

To wrap up, nowadays young people do not give enough time to helping local communities because they are too busy and their social life has migrated from their communities to the internet services.