TPO-26 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific r

Few things can be more important than choosing jobs for children, which can shape their life for at least several years or even longer. This also influence their economical conditions and social status. Some might say that since success is highly desired in our career, it is better to take jobs that are similar to our parents' jobs, so we can get more guidance. However, experience and support are not enough to make one perform well, actually there are more important elements including personal interests. What is more, finding different jobs can stimulate social mobility, thus bringing improvements and changes to the family.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the biggest advantages of following the path of parents is that young adults can get much more valuable experience and guidance compared to others, which makes them more competitive in the job market. Nonetheless, I would like to assert that this support from parents is limited, since the world is rapidly changing and old methods and ways of doing things may not apply to new time. New arrivals in a certain field should be given their own opportunities to make mistakes and to learn.

Secondly, it is generally believed were people to succeed, they must love what they do. If children only choose their jobs according to that of their parents, it is unlikely that they truly like that work, not to say they are enthusiastic about what they work on. In this circumstance, the chances are that young adults can not figure out the meaning of doing this particular job and lose the motivation to work hard.

Last but not least, following the paths of parents rules out the possibility of social mobility. In a BBC report, the journalist randomly interviewed two taxi drivers in the city of Shanghai, and was surprised to found that both of their daughters were studying economics. With the advent of public education, every one is supposed to have the ability to work in the field they want to, regardless of their parents' jobs.

In conclusion, though choosing jobs that are similar to parents' jobs can bring experience and guidance to children, the advantage of choosing a different work definitely outweigh the disadvantages. By doing so, not only can children choose the job they are really enthusiastic about, but also it brings about the possibilities for the family to move upward on social ladder.