TPO-26 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific r

No one can deny the fact that there are few things more important than choosing jobs for children, for it will shape their life for at least several years or even longer and will also influence their economical conditions and social status. Some might contend that since success is highly desired in our career, it is better to take jobs that are similar to our parents', so we can get more guidance. However, experience and support are not enough to make one perform well, actually there are more important elements including personal interests. What is more, finding different jobs can stimulate social mobility, thus bringing improvements and changes to the family.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that the biggest advantages of following the path of parents is that young adults are able to get much more valuable experience and guidance compared to others. However, I assert this support from parents is limited. With the swift development of technology, the chances are the parents may not know how to solve a problem in their fields with latest technologies, thus making their previous working experience not that useful.

Secondly, it is generally believed were people to succeed, they must love what they do. If children only choose their jobs according to that of their parents, it is unlikely that they truly like that work, not to say they are enthusiastic about what they work on. In this circumstance, the chances are that young adults can not figure out the meaning of doing this particular job and lose the motivation to work hard.

Last but not least, following the paths of parents rules out the possibility of social mobility. In a BBC report, the journalist randomly interviewed two taxi drivers in the city of Shanghai, and was surprised to found that both of their daughters were studying economics. With the advent of public education, every one is supposed to have the ability to work in the field they want to, regardless of their parents' jobs.

For the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe it is much more crucial for a young adult to choose a job different from their parents’.