TPO-26 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific r

It is undeniable that choosing a suitable job is crucial and also a big trouble for children. Though some think it is a good idea to follow their parents’ profession, however in my point of view, it depends on children’s interests and the need of society on what job they will choose.

To begin with, no one can insist on a job which takes oneself more than ten years or even a whole life’s time without interests. If you do not love your job, even when you have a high salary, it is sure that you cannot do it well thus you have to give up after many times of failure. Take my brother Li as an example. After he graduated, he became an employee who worked in a large company where our father also worked in. Though the payment is good, he always felt bored because he could not show off his talents in such a huge company wherein everything is unchangeable. Finally, he had to quit this job and built his own company to achieve his dream. So choosing jobs that are similar to parents’ jobs is quite unwise as wasting one’s talent without considering one’s interests.

Moreover, some parents’ jobs are not necessary in the modern society. With the high improvement of science and technology, various jobs are taken by robots or other new jobs. For instance, many car factories need lots of workers to assemble cars many years ago. However, what they need now are just some robots which never feel tired or hungry. What is more, without payment for robots, the owners of many factories do not need workers any more. According to a research by the Peking University, more than one hundred jobs will disappear in the following thirty years. So if you still insist on your parent’s jobs, soon you will find there is no need for your job.

Admittedly, following your parents’ jobs gives you more opportunities, for you to learn a lot of experience from them. So you can adapt to the job more quickly than normal fresher. But without any interests, any difficulty that you face can cause you to give up with a large possibility. And not to say when your parents’ job is discarded by the society, how can you preset it forever?

For the aforementioned grounds, I firmly believe it is unwise for a young adult to choose a job similar to his parents’, especially when considering he has no interests or the job is outdated.