TPO-27 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying.Use specific reasons and ex

No one can deny the fact that there are few things more important than choosing a career, for it will shape one's life for at least several years or even longer and will also in part determine one's economic condition and social status. Some might contend that since having a stable job is so important for make a living by oneself that it is better to take a secure job as soon as possible, instead of waiting for more satisfying ones. However, I would like to suggest that the criteria for choosing a job should not be security and stability, and it is people's own interests and education background that brings about a strong motivation and the possibility of motivation success.

First and foremost, people spend a great proportion of their life on working, and it would be disastrous if they are not doing what they like. For example, if one wants to become a teacher simply because its stable and well-paid, it is highly likely that he or she will constantly be annoyed by the naughty kids and get fatigue after a day's work, and soon loses the slightest enthusiasm he or she originally had. On the other hand, if one is determined to devote his or her life to educating the next generation, not only will one be more willing to make a great effort, but also feels more content.

Secondly, in a world that is more and more specific in labour division, it is desired that people choose a career close to the field they are trained during the course of education. Equipped with essential knowledge required in that particular field, they can perform better and more professional in general, as well as be more likely to innovate, to come up with new ideas and inventions, which is a main theme in modern society. This is well illustrated in fields like Information Technology, advanced industry and scientific research. People working closely to their studies also have a higher chance to success.

Last but not least, some might say that choosing a job only according to one's enthusiasm and education background is risk-taking. However, as the world is swiftly developing on a daily basis, the job market is also changing quickly, having higher and higher expectations for employers, and a number of people lose their jobs on a daily basis. Thus, take a secure job is not an once-and-for-all solution and people have to work hard regardless what kind of job they are doing. Thus, it is totally unwise to contemplate one job as stable and secure and believe one can take that job for their whole career.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe one should not take a secure job as long as he or she has the opportunity, rather than seeking for a more satisfying one.