TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many factors responsible the quality of education like the appropriate environment at the campus, good facilities, devoted professors and diligent students. All these things all together make an institution a better place to study. Giving priority to just one factor will be quite in equal and subjective. Although, many people think that just by going to a big famous university will be more than enough to get good education but I don’t agree with this idea. In my opinion it is extremely important to spend money on the salaries of the professors.

To begin with, professors are the essential part of the team that builds the future of a student. Today most of the students prefer to go to colleges that have huge buildings with fancy library and coffee house. No one actually pay attention to the most significant part of it and that is the teaching staff. A good dedicated professor has power to nurture a student. He/she not only solve the academic problems of a student but in addition to it he/she even motivate student to grow. I can recall that when I was in college I was not able comprehend chemistry subject. As a result, I failed in my midterm exam. I decided to quit but then my chemistry professor helped me a lot. He started teaching me even after the class without accepting any tuition fee from me. Eventually I scored good marks in my final exam. That is why, it is necessary to have good sincere teachers.

On the other hand, when a teacher is not satisfied with the salary then he will lose interest in teaching. Today, we all know that money is extremely important to survive and teachers are not an exception to it. Though, it is a noble profession but still everyone needs money to run a family. Most of the colleges and schools are paying fewer amounts to their staffs that are not sufficient to fulfil their requirements due to which many teachers take tuition at home. This practice has increased tremendously in past few years and has resulted as an extra expense for poor students who can’t afford it for example my son’s friend is very diligent but still he failed in his first year. He is studying in a government college where teachers are not at all bothered about the future of students as they do not get handsome salary.

To recapitulate, I would suggests that all the universities and schools should focus more on teachers and should give them decent salary rather than spending money on other needless things. This will definitely encourage professors to work hard and put in more efforts to teach students. After all, a teacher is like a god for a student that helps him/her to be successful.