TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Truth be told, whether universities should spend money on salaries for university professors or not in order to improve the quality of education has generated a lot of controversy lately. The notion that increasing professors' income improves the quality of education is a fascination one and one that I believe in. In the following paragraphs I will postulate my arguments to support my belief.

First and foremost, professors of low and average income are reluctant to work, and are enthusiasm. Furthermore, they may either show aggressive behavior toward students, or redirect their distraught toward them. Low income is one of the contributing factors to people's dissatisfaction in life. That dissatisfaction leads to undesirable behavior is a known fact. For these reasons, universities should increase professors' salaries in order to encourage them to work with enthusiasm, and make them eager to do research. Also, when professors are avid and open, students are encouraged to focus on their education as well.

Moreover, another aspect of increasing professor's salaries is obliging them to fully commit themselves to university. In this respect, it can be mentioned that some professors may engage on other career activities along being a professor, in order to be able to provide for their family and satisfy their needs. For instance, some of my professors used to have a private company, therefore, they did spend a great deal of their time in their company, thereby, they devoted much less attention to the university than they should. If universities increase professors' salaries, they are less likely to engage on other activities, thus, they will have more time to spend on research and teaching.

Admittedly, not to mention the importance of motivating other people to start a career in academia would be an oversight. Only by defining highly paid jobs in academia, can we persuade young adults to choose a career in academia, and become a professor. The more people become professors, the more advancements we achieve in science and education. Consequently, universities can conduct research in a variety of fields, as well as scrutinize a certain research area with an excessive number of professors. All the aforementioned points contribute to improving the quality of education.

All in all, universities should increase professors' salaries if they want to improve the quality of education, because in this way, professors become more committed to their jobs, and more people will become professors, therefore, the quality of education will be improved substantially.