TPO 31

Do you agree or disagree whit the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that fast paced changing of the world has gained much prominence in recent decades. That being said, it should not be far-fetched to find some controversy and debate surrounding some of its aspects namely, changing the level of happiness and satisfaction. One popular opinion regarding this issue states that people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than the past. I personally repudiate this thesis. In what follows, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite reason coming mind is that in the communication-oriented age and day we observe recently, having access to the internet and social media, people have access to each other more convenient than before from all over the world. Take a girl who has to go abroad for continuing her education as an example. what can she and her family do provided that there is not access to the internet; they have to send a letter which takes so much time to reach that or by the telephone the just could speak together and hear their voice which is expensive too. But today by accessing the internet they can easily see and speak together wherever they are in any time. Moreover, accessing the social media, people can find friends easily from all over the world, whereas in the past people just could find friends and communicate with others in a very limited way. So people can get rid of depression or anxiety by developing their communication very easily these days and get happier than the past.

The other significant point which deserves some words is that in the modern day and age we live, by developing technology and industries people can do their task in a safer environment and situation with very well-developed machines and instruments. Some professions such as agriculture, construction, medicine, engineering, etc. exposed to hazardous and took a lot of energy from mankind to do that. Take a woman who is a doctor and by using the developed medical equipment she can easily do surgery and identify the disease as soon as possible. Furthermore, in her house, she can use dish machine, washing machine, microwave and other household appliances and does household chores very easily and in a convenient way. But in the past women had to do all their work by hand which was really hard and take so much energy and time and also some of them threatened their life seriously. So today people are really satisfied and can feel more relax and safe and also have more time to dependent it on being happy.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons and examples lead us to the conclusion that access to the internet and social media and also developed technology has made people more and more satisfied in compared with the past. I personally predict that this feeling will get better and better in the future with this remarkable positive changing pace in all the aspects of life.