TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the pastUse specific reasons and examples to

Undoubtedly, it is an unfortunate fact that modern life is associated with complexity that stems from the rapid pace of change. However, despite all these difficulties, I disagree with the idea that this could adversely affect people’s spirits. In fact, almost all individuals now take advantage of the welfare that resulted from this new lifestyle. The reason why I support this opinion is discussed in the following passage.

Firstly, the most significant benefit of modern life is saving more time. Obviously, the increasing number of different technologies is aimed at doing more activities in shorter time periods. Consequently, this brings enough leisure time to people to spend with their family. Being with family gives the strong feeling of belonging that certainly enhance the inherent happiness. Not only this, when a person has more free time he or she would find it valuable to develop their own field of interest. For example, a housewife is able to save a lot of time when she cooks using a microwave device so she can spend her free time painting or practicing an art course; that would obviously lead to more satisfaction.

Furthermore, better economical conditions is another advantage of modern life. There is no doubt that increasing a large number of job opportunities and higher salary is one of the remarkable achievement in developed societies. As a result, it is quite likely that people tend to possess enough budget to invest on their enjoyable hobbies. Recent research showed that the average number of adults who has at least a an annual journey has been increased during the last two decades. According to the observations, this improvement underlies the fact that the average salary of an individual has been enhanced at the same time.

Finally, increasing amusing facilities is another good reason that people are now happier. In fact, the number of amusing places such as amusement parks and camping sites has been remarkably increased by twice during the last few years. Therefore, people can freely choose to go to a place where they experience a day full of joy and excitement. There, they can also find themselves accompanied by others who share the same happiness. For instance,

Overall, taking into account all these factors, I personally believe that modern life not only could not affect the people’s satisfaction, but also it provides them with more free time, sufficient budget and growing amusing facilities which eventually resulted in more happiness among communities.