TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.Use spe

There are certain considerations or factors that everyone should take into account to choose as to whether students learn more in group projects or if they work alone. Lots of people who prefer to be comfortable might choose working alone, while others would rather work in a group. In spite of the usefulness of working alone, in my view students learn more efficiently in group projects. I believe that there are two advantages of learning from other members in a group and analyzing the materials more deeply that helps students to learn more. Someone can consciously weigh the pros and cons of each of these elements.

First of all, students can learn from other members in a group. There are different children with different information and knowledge in a project group and they probably know lots of things about electronic, computer, or mathematics and so on. This is a great possibility for students who study in a group to share each other’s thinking, idea, as well as lecture notes or help each other to learn more. For instance, someone in a digital instruments project perhaps can learn from other fellow members how to work with digital camera, satellite, television, or cell phone. This way the students can be sure that all people in the group master all project’s materials. The children have to learn all of these on their own, while they work alone. Fellow students with wide variety of knowledge contribute the children to learn effectively.

Second, children can understand the subjects and materials more deeply. When students are in a group, they can gather and discuss information and data which they found. They have the opportunity to either hear broad range of ideas as well as attitudes about project’s subject or consider all aspects of the materials that have been covered in the course. Besides, they can refute or defend other’s reasons. This helps students to encounter and understand all hidden aspects of the projects. For example, students who are in a digital instruments project can address several questions about digital instruments such as “What is the future of the digital technology?” or “Will robot replace human?”However, while children work alone, there is not anybody to talk and cover the course with them. Because of working in group projects, children can investigate subjects more closely or critically, and as a consequence achieve a high level of understanding about their project’s topic.

Due to the above mentioned reasons, I think that all people should bear in mind that it is better for all students to work in a group. Other students’ experience and knowledge would in fact improve the process of learning in group projects.