TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.U

When it comes to children education, people in general believe that teacher plays an essential role in helping children learning. On the other hand, many people regard family matters, such as parents' education degree or children themselves' endeavors, as significant influence in education rather than school. Although teachers have beneficial impacts on education, personal hardworking is more important regardless of past or nowadays.

Certainly, students do spend more time on technology products, such as cell phones, online games, social networking web sites. However, technology is double-edged, it can be used to enhance the teaching quality. Teachers used to write every important point on the black board, or describe a certain circumstance verbally, left students abundant space for imagination. In contrast, nowadays, teachers prepare and demonstrate knowledge through projection of slides, with some pictures to help for explanations. For example, teacher used to describe the Seven Wonder through verbal words or only few insufficient photos of those sites. Today, more photos are exhibited, even videos on the Youtube are used for more clear understanding. Therefore, technology does help teachers improve teaching qualities, and students could consequently learn more effectively.

Moreover, even though technology is a huge distraction of children, it could help them learning as well. Students in the past went to library for searching related knowledge which teachers mentioned in class. In addition, the searching method in the library was also inefficient. However, with the advent of the invention of computers, current libraries are used computers for maintaining collections. Computers provide a more efficient way for students to search for related documents by entering key words of the title or the author of books, or a more advanced method which provided in the library is to search all the archives with similar themes. As a result, students nowadays do benefit more from the advanced technology.

Accordingly, though technology products, such as cell phones, online games, social networking web sites, distract children from studying, they in fact do help them learn effectively through more elaborate descriptions used for teachers, and through a more efficient approach to search for knowledge, compared to the past.