TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.U

When it comes to children education, people in general believe that teacher plays an essential role in helping children learning. On the other hand, many people regard family matters, such as parents' education degree or children themselves' endeavors, as significant influence in education rather than school. Although teachers have beneficial impacts on education, personal hardworking is more important regardless of past or nowadays. As a result, technology could be a drawback for children, yet they could actually further them with for a more effective way of learning.

Certainly, students do spend more time on technology products, such as playing cell phone games, texting with friends, playing online or video games. However, technology is double-edged, it can be used to enhance the teaching quality. Teachers used to write every important summary on the black board, or describe a certain circumstance verbally, left students abundant space for imagination. In contrast, nowadays, teachers prepare and demonstrate new knowledge through projection of slides, with some pictures to help for explanations. For example, teachers used to describe the Seven Wonder through verbal words or only few insufficient photos of those sites. Today, more photos are exhibited, even videos on the Youtube are used for more clear understanding. Therefore, technology does help teachers improve teaching qualities, and students could consequently learn more effectively.

Moreover, even though technology is a distraction of children, it could help them learn as well. Students in the past went to library for searching related information which teachers mentioned in class. In addition, the searching method in the library was also inefficient. However, with the advent of the invention of computers, current libraries are equipped with computers for maintaining library collections. Computers provide a more efficient way for students to search for related documents by entering keywords of the title or the author of books, or a more advanced method which provided in most libraries is to search all the archives with similar themes related to searching topics. As a result, for students nowadays, benefits of using the advanced technology outweigh its marginal disadvantages.

Accordingly, though technology products, such as cell phones, online or video games, websites related to social networking, distract children from studying, they in fact do help them learn effectively through more elaborate descriptions used for teachers, and through a more efficient approach to search for knowledge, compared to the past.