TPO 34

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on the cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that children education has gained much prominence in recent decades. That being said, it should not be far-fetched to find some controversy and debate surrounding that namely, the difficulty of educating children today. One popular opinion regarding this issue states that children’s education task is more difficult today than in the past. I personally repudiate this idea. In what follows, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point coming to mind is that in the modern day and age we observe cell phone plays a crucial role in accessing to the firsthand information in children. In the past, accessing only to the material which teachers taught to students in school, children had to just learn the courses by using them. However, today there are far wider ranges of information and education materials on the internet that children can access to them far simpler and easily by their cellphones. In this way, they can prepare themselves for the lessons which their teachers going to teach them. That is to say, the advent of cellphone paves the way for children’s education.

Another significant reason, one should take into account is that social networks benefit children in their life abundantly. They can triumph over challenges and obstacles whoever may encounter in their life. For instance, take a student who wants to continue education abroad. If he joins to the groups of students of his country educating in that university or living in that city, he can far easily find information, such as life costs at that country, better quality campus dorm and particularly finding friends far simply. As a result, having this knowledge in hand, he can make the best decision at a short time. With this in mind, children can have a good grasp of information and experience they need if they joining to the specific social networks with the considerable number of children from all over the world.

The third interesting point which deserves some words here is that online games broaden children’s horizon. Online games enable children to enhance their practical and academic skills. Group online games benefit them to learn decision making and better interacting with wide arrays of members who may not have a chance to interact with them and use their skills in the actual world. Moreover, online games are thought-provoking. For instance, there are a plethora of English vocab quiz games which corporate children learn numerous English words along with having fun. According to the refreshingly intelligible statistics released by a recent research conducted at the University of Tehran, 78% of the children who play useful online games are more efficacious and prosperous in their future lives.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons and examples lead us to the conclusion that educating children are far easier and convenient today in compare with the past due to telecommunication devices, social network, and online games. However some may believe that these facilities have made children addictive and less active than the past, I personally believe that by effective control of families, children can strike a balance between their education and using these facilities.