TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without no doubt, some people would agree that offer school-age children money for each high grade they get is a good idea, while some others may consider the opposite point of view. As far as I am concerned, I firmly disagree with this statement. Award children with money every time they get a good mark, could confuse their mind about the important values in life.

First of all, parents that could go ahead with the practice of giving money to their child every time he or she gets a good mark, should be very a wealthy ones. Moreover, it would be complex to apply a different price to every mark in a fair way according with the effort applied or the difficulty of the course evaluated. For example, if the child is skilled in mathematics should be payed same amount for good grades in mathematics, than on other topic that result more difficult for him or her? The result of an unfair payment would provoke anxiety and frustration on the child.

Secondly, parents are teaching a important lesson to their children when they reward or punish them for their actions, but furthermore, the reward or punishment also is a lesson by itself. Consequently, when a child only receive money because good mark, he or she could learn that money is the most important value to achieve and forget other fundamental values, like discipline, responsibility and a loving relationship. To illustrate this idea I remember the time my children didn't want money but spent time with me as a present for Christmas.

Finally, is important to state that children have not a complete understanding of the money and what it represents. Many children would rather spend more time with their parents before having a big bank account. Thus, all the effort the parent could do by giving them money could not be appreciated. In this case, the frustration would be in both, parents and children. For instance, a boy of six or seven years old can not measure exactly what more than on hundred dollars could buy that he or she would like to have.

In summary, considering all the reasons exposed above, I indeed disagree with the statement proposed. I think is a mistake to give money to children for accomplish good mark at school.