TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at today's parents way of rewarding their children on study brings to light a question that has several times provoked debate, namely, whether it is advisable for parents to offer school-age children money for high grade. Some might contend that by doing so the students can be motivated to study harder, and make progress continually. However, I would like to asserts that parents are not supposed to provide financial awards for children's study.

First and foremost, getting money from good grades distorts the real goal of study. It is widely accepted that children go to school to satisfy the instinctive curiosity of understanding the world, and to be equipped with essential knowledge for getting a job when they grow up. But if parents use money to reward children for their success in study, it is likely to make children believe that they study hard so they can use the money to buy things they want. Were they had formed this thought, it would be difficult for them to figure out the aim of learning as soon as the financial reward stops.

Secondly, it is undeniable that students need to learn every subject as hard as possible, regardless of how they had performed in the previous tests, because they are faced with new knowledge from time to time. As one can imagine, if the students study only to get money from their parents, they will naturally spend more time and energy on those subjects that they can make progress easily, and ignore those they already do well or do not seem to have the ability to do better. This can eventually lead to unbalanced development of the student.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by those who argue that offering school-age children money for high marks is reasonable. For example, children can learn that it is only hard work that brings about fortune, which can be a worthy notion when they commence their careers. Nonetheless, I still affirm that students can also get this notion by taking a part-time job.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that it is unwise for parents to offer their children money for high grades they get at school, and the real purpose of getting knowledge and balanced development of the student are two prime and conspicuous reasons.