TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It has became a common phenomenon that parents offer children money for their grades in recent years. In my opinion, this has far more benefits than the weakness for the following reasons.

To begin with, children can pay more concentration on study due to the reward of money. Once they get money, there’s no doubt that they will try harder to get more money than the last time which means they have to cost more time on study and reduce the time wasting on watching TV or playing games. And I will take myself as an example. Ten years ago, when I was just a primary school student, my parents cared about my study because I was addicted to playing games. I wanted to buy a new Play Station, however, I didn’t have enough money. Then I was told that if I can get a high grade, I will get enough money to buy it. To my parents’ surprise, after that, I paid more time on study and reduced time of playing. What a good idea! This is really good to improve children’s study.

Then, it can effectively improve children’s ability of managing money in a young age. If a person cannot use money reasonable, he will never feel happy even with lots of money. But as we can use this way to force them manage their money, it is possible that they can learn how to spend money. Also in the last example, when I finally got the money by three month’s hard work, I thought it was inadvisable that wasting all money for a new one. The better choice for me is to use just half of the price to buy a second-hand and save other money. So by this way, I learnt how to use money effectively.

Admittedly, some worries that this method causes some children forget their initial target, thus they may just care about money not the study. But this is not a case if we just give them a little. What’s more, too much money for a child who do not have enough power to identify the goods is really dangerous.

In a conclusion, offering money for children’s growth of study can really benefit them in both their study and the ability of controlling money.