TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the issue of education and importance of teachers in shaping society has proven to be a pressing issue. Even though some people think teachers were appreciated more in the past, others do not agree with them. As far as I am concerned, the latter attitude carries more weight; In that, not only has the level of society’s awareness been raised, but also the level of welfare for teachers have been raised too. In-depth discussion on each of the abovementioned reasons is provided below.

The first reason which should be considered here is Society have been more aware of importance of education. It is an undeniable fact that parent care more attention toward their children’s education and they know how much their teacher can effect that; So they do everything to make their children’s teacher happy. Take a personal experience as an example; We were five children in the family and we were actually poor. So my parent had to work for long hours. my father did not even know where is my school and how were my grades. But now one, parent know and pursue everything about their children’s education, from their grade to what books they should read to prepare much better for their exams. Besides that, media care more about teachers. By study show how education can effect one society, different media try to care more about education and how teacher can have vital role in shaping society’s new generations. So by showing and caring more about teachers, media try to focus more on the important role of teachers.

One should consider this point from another angle, which is level of welfare for teachers has been raised. First, their salary has been increased compare to thirty years ago. My father, who is mechanical engineer, says when I started my work, I liked to be a teacher but the salary was so low, I had to change to engineering. But now on, my father states, there is not that much difference between teaching salary and, for instance, engineering. On the other hand, there are so much facility around country to make teacher more pleasant. There are so much facilities in my town just for teacher, such as pool, club or restaurants. At the same time, they can use facilities such as hotel to travel around country with low prices. So this kind of facilities is not about money; but it is, more importantly, about how society and government want to appreciate teachers. One could easily conduct correlation between level of satisfaction and productivity of one employee, which is in this case teachers. So by making teachers more praised, they care about their job much better.

In a word, by taking all of the aforementioned reasons into consideration, it is rational to draw the conclusion that there is so much more appreciating toward teacher than before. It is important to realize that by making our teacher happier and satisfied, we have better education systems and well-educated children to make better future for our country.