TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at the people's attitude towards teachers brings to light a question that has several times provoked discussion, that is, whether teachers gain more appreciation today than they are in the past. Some might contend that teachers do not contribute substantially economic benefits to society and there are more knowledgeable people in society, so teachers are not as appreciated and valued as before. However, I would like to suggest that people's respect for teacher remains the same in modern society, and this can be attributed to traditional cultures and teachers' indispensable role in society.

First and foremost, it has long been a tradition for people to respect and appreciate teachers. Particularly, in my country, China, where most people have been farmers for the past thousands of years, erudite people were generally valued, and teachers were one of them. Even the emperors in ancient dynasties, for instance, respected and appreciated their teachers by giving them high social status and consulting them on important decisions to be made when governing the country. The appreciation for teachers can also be illustrated by the highly regarded Teachers' Day in China. On that day, students articulate their respect, appreciation and even love to their teachers through various ways. So, the respect for teachers is inherited to today's society as an old tradition.

Secondly, though teachers as a whole cannot make significant contribution to economy and thus seem to be less valued in modern society where economic success is pursued, teachers shoulder the responsibility for educating the next generation, having an irreplaceable role in society. It is undeniable that knowledge enables people to move upward on social ladders, and many people are clearly aware of this reality. As a result, they attach great importance to the education on the next generation. In this way, teachers are appreciated and valued because of their constructive role in the growth of youngsters.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by those who claim that teachers are less appreciated and valued than before as the intellect level of society rises. There are so many talented people at present, like scientists, and teachers only stick to textbooks and hardly innovate in their career. Nonetheless, I still affirm that the appreciation for teachers has not faded, as they form the cornerstone of an educated public by bringing knowledge to them.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that teachers enjoy the same appreciation and respect as before, and a strong tradition for doing so, as well as their unique role in educating the next generation are two prime and conspicuous reasons.