TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of humanity, human beings have been tried to learn as much as possible about everything and it could not be possible without teachers to transcend knowledge from one generation to next one. Nowadays, from among all positions, teachers crucially important to society due to their vital role to educate children. Considering this, teachers deserve to be appreciated properly. There is a controversy amongst different people whether society appreciate and value teachers more nowadays in comparison with past or not.

To begin with, the advocates of the idea, which is teachers regarded more in past, contend that

with worldwide expansion of internet, there are more resources for learning and one can learn almost everything through internet. As a clear illustration, the internet provided quite a lot opportunities so much so that sometimes there is no need of schools. By replacing such methods of learning to teachers, value and attention to the teachers dramatically reduced, while students and society show natural inclination toward internet-based learning.

The proponents of the statement, mentioned, hold firmly to the belief that salary is a contributory factor in whether society appreciate one particular occupation or not. Statistics show the fact that there is direct relation between salary and attention occupations get. To get into detail, one who earns more money respected more by people and society. Nowadays, according to same statistics, teachers earn relatively little money in comparison with other jobs such as doctors, engineers, lawyers, and professors, to name but a few. in contrary, in past, being teacher classified as a high-class job and earn relatively much money unlike now. As a result, teachers respected and valued much more in past.

On the other hand, the adversaries of aforementioned idea argue that today, as it is commonly sensed, children are of considerable importance to their parents. Therefore, parents pay more attention to the education of them; consequently, teachers come into more consideration rather than past. To be more elaborate, since teachers have the most impact on students, parents and society do their best to find best teacher for the children and it means they respect more and more to teachers.

To put the issue into prospective, with all this taken into account, i would wholeheartedly assert that teachers valued and regarded more in the past on the ground that from my point of view I found the advocates assertion more cogent than those of the opponents.