TPO-42 - Independent Writing Task Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at worker's attitudes toward their tasks at work brings to light a question that has several times provoked discussions, that is, whether having various types of tasks to do makes them more satisfied than doing similar tasks. Some might contend that focusing on a single task boosts workers' efficiencies, thus making them more satisfied by accomplishing more. However, I would like to suggest that workers would be happier if they are given more tasks in terms of facing challenges and learning new skills.

First and foremost, handling different tasks requires different skills, thus providing workers with opportunities to learn new things. For example, workers might find that they need to utilize a new set of softwares in the office or new machines and tools in factories to finish a new task, the process of which brings about novel knowledge and make them more capable and experienced as a worker. By picking up new skills, the workers would absolutely feel more content than simply repeating the same things every day.

Secondly, having different sorts of tasks to do diversifies people's work. It is widely accepted that working on a single task for a long time, like several years, make people tired of them, thus lowering their evaluations for the work they are doing. Offered with various tasks, on the contrary, workers would face new challenges and deal with new problems. If they solve those problems successfully, they can harvest a sense of achievement and content.

Last but not least, as the workers are capable of handling different tasks, it is highly likely that they will get recognition from the employees. A worker would be appreciated if he or she can improve the efficiency of the company and lower the cost for the company to operate by being eligible for doing many different types of tasks, for the company can now hire fewer employers. As a result, current employers might get a pay rise or promotion, leading to a higher level of satisfaction in their work.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that doing various tasks during the workday makes people more satisfied than doing similar tasks, and the chances to face challenges and learn new skills are two prime and conspicuous reasons.