TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

Without no doubt, depending on each situation and student-teacher's relationship, some students would prefer to interrupt and correct a teacher or leader that say a mistake, right away, while other, may consider approach to the teacher, at the end of the class, or simply say nothing. As far as I concern, I firmly support the idea of correct the mistake, because a learning environment can not repress the opportunity of correct and learn. How to approach to the teacher or leader of a meeting, would depend of each situation.

First of all, it is important to analyse if the mistake or incorrect opinion emitted by the teacher or leader is really a mistake or incorrect. Clearly, students not always are aware of all the information necessary to judge an opinion when they are precisely learning. For instant, interrupt a class trying to correct a possible mistake from the teacher when really he or she was right, would end in a personal embarrassment for the student. Thus, it would be caution to wait and get the pertinent information before talk to the teacher.

Secondly, in case of being in a crowdy class with hundred of students, pointing out the mistake of a teacher or a leader that could embarrass him or her, could represent a conflict in the future relationship between student-teacher. For example, a very smart friend of mine played smart with a new teacher by asking hard questions till he induced him into a mistake. After pointing out this mistake that day, the teacher decided not to allow him to ask any question, for a long time during the classes. The relationship between them was broken. Considering this example, I believe that the best approach to discuss a possible mistake with a teacher is in a discreet way by talking with him or her at the end of the class.

Finally, say nothing would be a mistake itself. Moreover, in a education environment, like a class of any kind, the goal is to learn. Suppressing a question would be totally against the idea of learning, maximum if that question trend to correct a mistake. To illustrate this point, I remember the time during a math class that I had spotted a wrong answer in a problem solved by the teacher, in class. As I am a very shy person, I didn't say anything. Consequently, when the exam arrived, all the students answered the question of that particular problem in a wrong way and our scores suffered.

In summary, considering all the reasons exposed above, I indeed, believe that the best approach to correct a mistake said by the teacher or leader of a meeting would be by talking with him or her at the end of class or event.