TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

A glance at how today's parents spend time with their children brings to light a question that has several times provoked discussions, that is, whether parents should spend time playing with their children, or helping them with their schoolwork. Some might contend that since parents are too busy to supervise their children's studies, it is advisable to use every single second they spent with their children on study. However, if I were a parent, I would prefer to play with my children in leisure time.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the priority of parents is to provide their kids with love and care. At present, adults spend so much time on work that children could feel ignored or even abandoned when their parents are not with them. Thus, it is important for parents to communicate and interact with their kids, and the best way to do so is to play games or sports with them. When playing, both children and parents can temporarily forget about the problems they had in study or work, and will be able to truly enjoy the intimate relationship between each other.

Secondly, since knowledge is expanding with remarkable speed in modern society, the role parents can play in facilitating children with their studies is really limited. For example, the students could be learning about scientific discoveries made in the past decades, so the parents themselves is likely to have problem understanding those new theories, not to mention answering questions raised by their children. In fact, it is the teachers' responsibility to help children with their problems in study.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by those who believe that parents should use their time spent with children to help them with study. To play is the nature of children, so it is definitely necessary for parents to monitor their children on study, preventing them from wasting too much time on things that are irrelevant to study. Nonetheless, I still affirm that parents should educate their children to be self-displined and teach them to arrange their time reasonably, which could cultivate their ability to study by themselves and benefit the kids in the long run. On the contrary, if they only care about their kids' study when they are with them, not only would the effects be limited, but the children will also be unable to be independent.

Due to aforementioned ground, it is absolutely worthwhile for busy parents to play games or sports with their children when they are free, and a better relationship between the two generations and limited help from parents on study are two prime and conspicuous reasons.