TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

A glance at how today's parents spend time with their children brings to light a question that has several times provoked discussions, that is, whether parents should spend time playing with their children, or helping them with their schoolwork. Some might contend that since parents are too busy to supervise their children's studies, it is advisable to use every single second they spent with their children on study. However, my suggestion is that parents should play with their children in leisure time.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that the priority of parents is to provide their kids with love and care. At present, adults spend so much time on work that the children could feel ignored or even abandoned when their parents are not with them. Thus, parents are expected to attach importance to communicating and interacting with their kids, and the best way to do so is to play games or sports with them. When playing, both children and parents can temporarily forget about the problems they had in study or work, and will be able to truly enjoy the intimate relationship between each other.

Secondly, even though in a competitive society students face both peer pressure and high expectations from parents, it does not necessarily mean that they do not have the right to play. In fact, they can benefit a lot from playing accompanied with parents. For instance, doing sports and playing some games typically involves many different parts of the body, thus can enhance the coordination between body and brain, boosting the physical health of children. what is more, as there are too many students at school, teachers are only able to offer little guidance when they are playing games or sports. At home, on the contrary, not only can parents pay full attention on a single child, they can also guarantee the safety of the kids. Hence, parents actually play a unique and irreplaceable role in playing with children.

Last but not least, with the advent of advanced technology, students can consult a variety of sources when confronted with problems in study, and they do not need to turn to their parents for help. For instance, cell phones make teacher more approachable to students almost at any time, and in Internet brings all the libraries around the globe with a single click on the mouse. With these powerful tool, parents influence on the study of their kids can be easily outcompeted, and it is not efficient to do so either.

Due to aforementioned ground, it is absolutely worthwhile for busy parents to play games or sports with their children when they are free, and a better relationship between the two generations and the unique role of parents in playing with children are two prime and conspicuous reasons.