TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

Parents play great role in children’s development so that it’s critical to spend time effectively for parents because most parents are really busy in the modern sociality. Comparing with using time on schoolwork, I think spending time playing games or sports with children is more important for the following reasons.

To begin with, as the saying goes that parents are the best teachers, this means that parents can affect their children deeply in their development of life, not study. And the best way to teach them is playing games or sports with them. I take myself as an example. When I was no more than ten years old, I liked to play ping-pong with my mother who had learnt it many years ago. So I never won my mother. I thought about giving up playing ping-pong many times, but with the help of my mother, I learnt that the most important is not the success, but the belief you can success. After this experience, I never gave up and always tried my best to do anything. That’s the most important for parents to teach by playing.

Then we have to commit that having fun is also necessary for children who are tired of hard study tasks. For example, according to a research carried out by Peking University in 2016, more than 70% of students younger than twelve years old are under too much pressure due to the study. They need relax. So parents can be the best choice to have fun with because they think parents can fully understand them. What’s more, if parents not just never have fun with children, but also compel them to study which cause more pressure, they may even give up study. That is why parents should have fun with their children.

Though doing things about schoolwork with children may improve their grades, we have to say there are things far more than grades, such as characters and personality. Children don’t need to be No.1 in study, but they should be a good citizen in our society.

In the end, from all the above mentioned points and reasons, I strongly agree that spending time playing games or sports is far more important than study.