TPO 45- independent writing taskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use s

In this progressive and sophisticated world, making decisions, especially about crucial subjects in life is one of the challenging things that young people deal with. In such situations, some rely on their parents to make wiser decisions. A controversial question, which is often raised regarding this issue is whether youngsters depend on their parents less compared with the past for making decisions or not. Different people hold different views according to their previous experiences. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that in today's world youths are less dependent on their parents for making decisions. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that having access to a wide variety of reliable resources like knowledge from school or media makes youngsters capable of making logical decisions without needing their parent’s advice. Nowadays, the significant part of preparing young people for the future life has been fulfilled by the education system. During their school days, they learn how to cope with hardships and making important decisions through practical courses besides their mandatory courses. Moreover, all people including youth have surrounded with a plethora of TV channels that the most parts of their programs are educational ones about various subjects. Those kinds of programs raise youngster's awareness about thousands of things that will support them when struggling to make decisions.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that in this hectic world parents are busy with their backbreaking tasks at work which has an adverse influence on their relationship with their children. Since there is no close relationship between parents and children in comparison to the past, they usually do not ask their parents to give them useful advice. In addition, the lack of this relationship leads to the closeness of young people with their friends and rely on them when confronting a dilemma of how to make a better decision. My own experience is a compelling example of this. My parents work from dawn to dusk, consequently, we do not spend much time together. My friends were the ones who help me to choose my college major, my partner, and etc.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, I firmly believe in today’s society young people do not rely on their parents since they have access to a great array of resources that helps them to depend on themselves. Besides, nowadays, there is no close relationship between parents and children which gets them away from each other, resulting in they do not ask their parents to help them for making the right decision.