TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

Celebrities have always played a very big role in our lives as we tend to follow them more closely. But it is always the youngsters who admire celebrities more than older people. In my opinion, I believe that the opinions of celebrities such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. I would like to support my argument with the following reasons.

Firstly, young people are more passionate towards entertainment and sports than older people. Due to this it is obvious that youngsters feel connected with their favourite celebrities than older people. This love for their celebrities influences their way of living and the value the opinion of the celebrities. An incident which took place in India some years ago will support my point. In Tamil Nadu, a state in India, Rajnikanth is a well known film personality who has over a million fans, most of them youngsters. His fans are crazy for him and religiously follow his films, speeches and opinions. Rajnikanth supported a political party in public for the state elections in 1996. His fans, most of them youngsters, valued his opinion so much that they also supported the same political party. It turned out that the political party gained a landslide victory in the elections and it was believed that young fans has made a vital contribution in the electoral victory.

Secondly, in most cases, young people emulate celebrities more often than older people. This plays a major role in opinions of such celebrities being more important to youngsters. My own experience will help support my viewpoint. My friend is a huge fan of Sachin Tendulkar, a legendary cricket player in India. I had recently gone shopping with him in a cloth store and he had bought a T-shirt of a particular brand and insisted me to buy shirts from the same brand. When I asked him for the reason, he said that the brand was advertised by Sachin and hence he wants to buy clothes from the same brand. My friend uses accessories worn by Sachin and he find this cool. Youngsters value the opinion of the celebrities and try to emulate them as they think it is cool and gains attention from their peers. This incident proves that sometimes, youngsters do not just value the opinions of the celebrities but also are swayed by them. Older people are more mature and experienced and value the opinions of each individual equally.

In conclusion, I believe that younger people value the opinions of the celebrities more than older people because youngsters are usually passionate about celebrities and feel more connected with them and try to emulate them and hence value their opinions highly.