TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

There are certain considerations one can take into account to investigate and examine the issue on whether we should know events happened everyday around the world. Someone contends that it is a waste of time because most of them have of no relation to us. However, I asserts it is necessary to do so, especially for young people who want to be competitive in a globalized world.

First and foremost, it assists people to keep up with the pace of the whole world. Nowadays, the world swifts quickly and everyone is experiencing great changes in different fields like transportation, technology and science all the time. If we close our eyes to what is going on around us, which seems unrelated to our daily life, we will soon be left behind by the trend of development. Thus, it is vividly clear it is of vital significance for everyone to care about our globe by reading news on the internet or watching TV everyday.

Furthermore, preparing for future jobs is another noticeable factor for young adults. With the rapid trend of globalization and internationalization, the chances are one will always work with others from different culture background in the same group. In this circumstance, mutual understandings of others' culture makes cooperation much easier and more comfortable. For those who never pay attention to events happened in other parts of the world, it is impossible for them to have a knowledge about other culture context, therefore making them less competitive in the workplace.

Last but not least, an additional support comes to mind is it contributes to a broader horizon and knowledge. No one can deny the enormous cultural diversity in this world, and knowing what has going on around the whole world offers ordinary people a precious opportunity to know the world better. For example, I watched how western countries celebrate the Christmas when I was a young boy on television, which stimulated my interests about western culture, and made me determined to study abroad in the future from that time.

For aforementioned ground, all folks should bear in mind that caring about the events occur around the world will have profits sometime in our lifetime, although it may seem as if it is of no use to spend time on something that are not likely to affect our life.