TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

People used to live in a relatively separate world, there is no connections among places except for concrete path. Nevertheless, advanced technology closely connect the place to place through internet these days, modern citizens know about current things through this media. People relish it because they can broaden their horizons it promotes people developing their own outlook and provide a more objective point of view.

Firstly, people are able to expand their knowledge range through knowing current events, because events happen nearby is limited in variety. For example, inhabitants in Boston will probably never experience an earthquake. Unlike them, on the western coast, Californians live on the Pacific rim which is an area where earthquake will frequently occur, so they are possibly victims of earthquake. Citizens in Boston can know exactly about what had happened on the other side US, through coverage on different media, so those reports can be really informative to them.

Meanwhile, people form personal world view through knowing about news around the world, because events happen in communities where we live in are limited in varieties, people need experience to form their own outlook, peoples brain will analyze everything that is experienced and gradually form a mature outlook, which might account for why experienced means sophisticated. For example if a person have live in many different country, that person might experience societies under different types of Authority. Actually different Parties embody both advantages and drawbacks. A country which is governed by only on Party is more stable at the same time this type of country is relatively less democratic than a country with a number of Parties.

Admittedly, if a person does not know what is happening around the world will make a person more concentrated on their own things. They can be disturbed and distracted by what others do instead of persisting his own. However, this will not result badly, because sometimes people stand too close to what they are doing, they could not detect what they did are incorrect. If there is viewer aside and proposes a completely different point of view, the viewer might be more objective because he stands on a objective angle, situations will change possibly. Knowing what occur around the world serves a similar function as that person which can give people a more objective point.

In conclusion, knowing global events serves many merits include broadening their horizons promoting people developing their own outlook and providing a more objective point of view.