TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

There are certain considerations that everyone can take into account to investigate and examine the necessity of knowing what is happening around the world, even if the events are irrelevant to people's life. Some might contend that reading news is a waste of time and does not bring any useful information that can guide our actions. Nonetheless, I would like to suggest that getting to know what is happening around the globe is necessary.

First and foremost, knowing the latest events keeps us informed, satisfying our nature of curiosity, as the flow of information is an unstoppable trend during the development of the world. By reading news, people can have a glance at distinct cultures, which can boost mutual understanding between different countries. Just like reading books, reading news is a way of getting knowledge, where the actual goal of directly benefit from them is not that important. On the contrary, if they only care about things around them, they would know little about the outside world, and are unable to celebrate the shining points of other thoughts and cultures.

Secondly, it is hard to argue that an event happened in other parts of the world has no connections with our lives. In fact, our life is subtly but collectively determined by events happening in every corner of the world. With the advent of technology, humans living on the Earth are increasingly connected and intertwined, and almost every major event happened in a place exerts certain impacts on the other side of the planet. This is best illustrated with the example of the global market. A strike in South America, for instance, can lead to a rise in the price of candies in other continents. This is because the paper used to wrap and pack candies are made from wood produced in the South America. Thus, no individual can escape the influence of events going on in other parts of the world, and it is of grate significant to know what is happening around the world.

Finally, the competition between different countries is another argument comes to mind. During the past several decades, the accumulation and sharing of knowledge has only rendered the competition between countries more fierce. Were people to lead in this game, they would have to know their competitors, making it crucial to watch the newest ideas and innovations in other parts of the world. It is no exaggeration to say that people who do not care about the progress made by others would eventually be outcompeted.

Due to aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that it is essential for people to know what is happening in the world, regardless of whether those events are directly connected to their life or not.