TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

There are certain considerations that everyone can take into account to investigate and examine the necessity of knowing what is happening around the world, even if the events are irrelevant to people's life. Some might contend that reading news is a waste of time and does not provide any valuable guidance to our actions. Nonetheless, I would like to suggest that getting to know what is happening around the globe is necessary.

First and foremost, knowing the latest events keeps people informed, satisfying their nature of curiosity. By reading news, people can have a glance at distinct cultures, which can boost mutual understanding between different countries. Just like reading books, the practical value of reading news are not that significant, but it is the novel information that counts. Moreover, people's views toward the world are also shaped by what they heard and read. Knowing a wide range of things makes them more erudite and open-minded, which will definitely benefit them as world citizens.

Secondly, it is hard to argue that an event happened in other parts of the world has no impact on our lives. In fact, our life is subtly but collectively determined by events going on in every corner of the world. This is best illustrated with the example of the globalized market where a strike in South America can lead to the rise in the price of candies in other continents. This is because the paper used to wrap and pack candies are made from wood produced in the South America. Thus, no individual can escape the influence of events going on in other parts of the world, and it is of grate importance to know what is happening around the world.

Finally, the competition between different countries is another argument comes to mind. During the past several decades, the accumulation and sharing of knowledge has only rendered the competition between countries more fierce. Were people to lead in this game, they would have to gain adequate knowledge and know their competitors, making it crucial to watching the newest ideas and innovations in other parts of the world. It is no exaggeration to say that a country where people do not care about the progress made by others would eventually be outcompeted.

Due to aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that it is essential for people to know what is happening in the world, regardless of whether those events are directly connected to their life or not.