What are some of the experiences that shaped your outlook and the way you live now?

As the old adage goes "Experience is a better teacher than a book", my life's experience has also shaped my outlook. There have been many unforgettable experience which have impacted my life in both positive and sometimes in a negative way.

First, the terrorist attack on the Indian parliament had a profound effect on my life. All my life, I had wanted to become a engineer, but when I saw the the horrific images of the cowardly attack on the center of Indian democracy. I decided to try my luck in armed forces. I was motivated by the incident and decided to fight for protecting the freedom of the largest democracy in the world. I joined the armed course to get involved in the core of anti-terrorist operation.

Another experience which shaped my outlook was while I was patoralling near the border. There was shelling at our base and one of my compatirot was gravely injured. My compatriot was in great pain and I couldn't help him beyond the basic medical procedure. Fortunately, reinfrocements arrived in time and my friend was saved. The inablity to help a fellow soldier at the time of grave medical danger prompted me to become a medic for my battalion. I immediately informed my supervisor about my wishes and he helped me securing a place in the medical department. The shelling incident was the impetus behind my decision to pursue a medical trianing and become a medic.

Lastly, becoming a father to a girl has shaped my outlook completely. The fatherhood has taught me to look at life with hope. The way a child look at the world, the inquisitiveness and the curiosity is responsible for me to seek out more knowledge. This has renewed my vigor of working towards my masters degree in internal medicine.