What discovery in the last 100 years has been most beneficial for people in your country? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice

Discoveries can modify society, improving the life of its citizens like vaccines and disease eradication or they can destroy human lives like the case of the atomic bomb. In the recent 100 years a lot of discoveries have taken place in the world that had the potential to influence the world, including my country, Portugal. Personally, I think the internet, firstly used as a communicative tool by the US naive during the second world war, has been the most beneficial discovery/invention for my country. Nowadays, almost nobody can conceive or imagine a world without internet. We use the internet to send instant emails that no longer need a mail man to deliver the message. We use the internet to entertain ourselves, searching online games, playing video games, watching live streams of movies and series. The internet is also used to search information, where we can learn anything, instantly, without the need to search hundreds of books in the library. I could give so many other examples, like online shopping, blogs, other more . All this examples, a few of the many possible, enfatises the importance of internet in our daily lives, where it plays a centra role.