Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion?

Genetic engineering is one of the technology advancements that creates a controversial issue to humankind. Some people believe that it improves humans live in many ways. While others argue that it may be threat to life on earth. I am inclined to believe that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks. This essay will discuss benefits of genetic engineering and provide a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, the first and foremost, it is very beneficial for agricultural world, as its increase the food production and improve the nutritional quality. Undoubtedly, world is facing the drastic population growth which means the food supply is inadequate because of high demand. As it basically can resist crops from pests and withstand severe weather conditions and also reduce dangerous pesticides in environment. For example, Scientists conducted an experiment to made crops to resist severe weather conditions like hail rain and extreme draught conditions which led increment in yield.

To continue with, genetic engineering provides numerous advantages to medical fields, because of genetic modification several drugs, vaccines and insulin have been created to treat human diseases. It’s really useful to treat hereditary illnesses as well such as down syndrome and sickle cell and developed a solution where defective gene can be replaced by healthy genes. For instance, people started to have this new insulin medicine to control their blood sugar level so they do not need to worry about when they suffer from diabetes. Therefore, genetic engineering is the best method so far to curb and deal with human difficulties.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that genetic engineering brings far-reaching benefits to human beings mainly to deal with world hunger problem and cure illnesses. In my opinion, the advantages of genetic engineering outweigh its disadvantages.