In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting? !f voting is compulsory in a democratic society, what are some conclusions we can draw about the nature of democracy?

Over the past few years, there has been a high degree of ambivalence over this matter whether voting should be compulsory. Whereas few groups say that voting should not be compulsory, I sanguinely believe that it should and agree with the idea of compulsory voting. This essay will further discuss the reasons to support this notion and then deduce a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriads of reasons to supports compulsory voting but one of the most compelling reason is that by voting people would get the right government they want. Also, if given the chance, there would be some groups of people who would never go out for voting. Therefore, I believe voting should be compulsory for everyone. To further elaborate, In my own experience, when I was a university student I conducted research which revealed that more than 40% of people would not vote if it's not compulsory for them to vote. Hence, the importance of the compulsory voting rule apparently can be seen.

On the contrary, unbelievers say that voting should not be compulsory as everyone should have the right to chose vote or not. They say that most of the time the political candidate is not chosen by the people but the political organizations. Although it seems ostensibly truthful, this seems more of a one-sided argument. In a democracy, people can choose their candidate and ask them to participate in the election. Therefore, this proves to be a preconceived notion of the sceptic's groups.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments from both of the sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of compulsory voting far outweigh its drawbacks. Therefore, I agree with the idea of compulsory voting.