Some people prefer to listen to music while studying, as music has a calming effect on the mind. Others prefer a pin drop silence in order to concentrate on the content they are studying and have an undivided attention while they do so.

Which option works better for you and why do you think the other option is not viable to ensure a successful study time?

Music has very profound effects on the minds of the human beings. Music therapy is one of its applications to heal many types of disease. There are some people, who prefer to listen to music while studying while other like me need silence to concentrate.

Throughout the history, music has been used to make the happy moments for the people. It has its own advantages to increase the concentration. Firstly, it lessens the stress by reducing the production of hormones responsible for the negative feelings. Secondly, it entertains the listeners. Scientists also have confirmed the positive effects on the body and brain both. Finally, researchers have affirmed that our brain unconsciously reacts to the music.

On the other hand, there are some people who need a pin-droop silence during study time or research time to increase the concentration and focus on the subject. There are many reasons for them which create deviation for them. For instance, while listening songs, people may forget to study and start singing. In addition to this, it may also make them absorbed in listening to the level that they could not understand the topic or subject they are learning.

To sum it all, I feel that lighter music without lyrics is better for increasing concentration while studying than lyrical songs which can cause the loss in the focus.