Do you think that ease does not challenge us and that we need adversity to help us discover who we are?

Adversities and unsavoury incidents are capable of changing a person for good, tough situations can help one discover the myriad shades of one’s personality.

Deftness for long evokes no sense of desperation or passion to go beyond the limits that one sets for oneself. Mahatma Gandhi’s astounding grit and determination for a free India stemmed from an unsavoury incident. While travelling in a train in South Africa, he was thrown out of his compartment for being brown skinned. The experience stirred a pressing urge in him to make his experience one of the very last to ever occur. Such dauntless perseverance that mahatma Gandhi possessed could not have culminated if himself had not faced the burnt of humiliation.

A person discovers his calibre only when faced with adversities. A lake, placid as ever, has no force of nature to challenge its waters. On the other hand, a river exuberant as ever, clashes into many rocks passes through the most undulating terrains, flies down slopes and crawls in the absence of wind. In the course the river finds how far it can go where as a lake does not.

A series of adroit events can also lead to a sense of over-confidence. Too many favourable incidents make our mind believe that the events are inertial and that the events are inertial and that they will continue to be so. My brother had competed in three tennis tournaments and fortunately won all three. My brother would usually start practicing days before the tournament. However, the fourth time there was an unusual cloud of calmness around him. He began skipping practice, playing half heart heartedly and pursuing my parents to buy his things after he won. His lack of zeal already made me predict the repercussions. My brother stood fourth in the tournament. He lost from most of the players who were never considered good competitors. Probably whose players were pushed to do well by their negative experiences?