"Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Many people dream about being famous, especially teenagers, many of whom regard their popularity as purpose of life. However, though society praises selected individuals, it bases on a much greater number of people who work hard and diligent, but stay in shadow.

I believe that young people should put long-term goals at the first place instead of seeking for the fame. Firstly, big things are always done with enormous effort, and only they amend the world. Secondly, fame and recognition might be evanescent if they are not based on real contribution. However, fame and recognition might a great stimulator for a young mind to put effort in his future, but it should not be the primary goal.

There were numerous contributors throughout history, and they always struggled to reach success through sweat, blood, and pain. Be it writers, who lived in poverty, and counting every penny to publish future masterpiece, or scientists, who worked in bad conditions like Carnot, and were recognised only after death. One has to put a lot faith and energy to create something that would make the world a better place. For instance, Elon Musk, who created Tesla, Space X, and PayPal faced real challenges, but the plan he bore in his mind helped him to make significant contribution. So, it is big goals that help people amend the world.

Quick obtained fame is usually quite evanescent, so one should not refer to it as a sign of success. For instance, in the TV Show «Silicon Valley» a person, who is often referred sarcastically as Bighead, was placed on the first page of a very respectable journal for the significant contribution to company that he made. However, in fact it was a great twist of facts, and it was his luck that certain circumstances and relationships between wealthy people have put him into the place of celebrity. He did not do anything and his real contribution is zero. Society operates due to contributors, not parasites, so this behaviour is not the one to be instilled in youngsters.

However, it is true that fame usually comes along with success. One could admit, fame is a pleasant prize for those who succeeded. People who aim for being famous are in fact pushed to diligence and hard work, so such a tendency might be beneficial for them and for others. In addition, fame gives a great head start in every field. The popular show «Voice» gave a great chance for talented children to say a word for themselves to the whole world. I believe, the experience they got during their participation will help to succeed in the future.

Overall, I agree that young people should aim not for the quick fame and recognition, but bear in mind long-term goals. It is more likely they will be happy with their achievements, and it is more likely that they will make a contribution.