130) The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this statement, the author argues that the the change from butter to margarine does not have a huge impact on the customers. To bolster this, the author cites that only a small portion of customers have complaint about the change and also customer do not complaint when margarine is served instead of butter. However, the argument is tenuous in several aspects.

One of the major problems is that 2 percent of customers have complained does not necessarily mean that the amount of complaint is trivial. it is possible that after the change, the majority of the customers who feel unhappy with the change have already decided to not going to this restaurant anymore. thus, the manager might have only collected the opinions from the remaining customers. Moreover, even though only the data about 2 percent is credential, the author does not mention the base number for their customers. it is possible that they asked opinions from 1000000 customers, and 2 percent of 10000 is 20000, which means that a significant amount of people are unsatisfied with the change.

The manager’s report about the amount of complain the servers received is also dubious. it is possible that the manager lie about the number of complaint from customers because margarine is much cheaper than butter. also what exact number does the word ‘many’ refer to?

it is possible that the manager coincidentally asked those who did not receive complaint from the customers. Since the manager did not conduct a thorough survey that include every servers working for Happy Pancake House restaurants, it is unjustifiable to make the conclusion that the customers feel indifferent between butter and margarine.

it is untenable to assume the customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the same word to refer to either butter or margarine because there is only few complain. it is possible that some customers did not explicitly show their dissatisfaction; perhaps they complaint with their friends or in their minds. also the assumption that the impact of the change from butter to margarine on consumers is small is not substantiated. because consuming artificial butter for a long period of time is undeniable harmful to human body. thus, a more thorough consideration should be made before stating that using margarine has only little effect on customers.

In sum, the author statement is logically flawed and the evidences used to support the proposition is also not credible.