151 Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten year

The author of the argument states that the city of Slimvilee have observed some positive changes regarding their exercise habits.This according to him will cause the obesity rate of the city of Slimville to go below the national average. However it is necessary to find out what is meant by a healthy lifestyle. The author claims that there has been significant improvement in exercise habits of the people. But, is that the only indicator of healthy lifestyle? It may happen that the people

exercise regularly but do not maintain proper eating habits which may eventually lead to the spreading of diseases thus affecting their lifestyle. Hence, it needs to be answered as to what is meant by healthy lifestyle.

The author tells that his claims are based on the results of a recent survey. But it is not stated how recent the survey is. It is important to know when the survey was conducted and who were the respondents. The survey results indicate that the residents of the city have adopted healthy habits and are following the recommendations of

doctors and fitness experts. Besides, it is possible that the doctors have scaled down the recommended daily exercise in comparison to what they recommended 7 years ago.If that is not the case,still, the argument does not provide information on the sample size and the place where the survey was conducted. If the survey is conducted in near the jogger's park then, naturally the sample will contain people who are health conscious. Even if the survey is conducted at various places including shopping malls and restaurants, it is possible that the respondents didn't answer to the survey veraciously. For author's argument to be valid, it must comment about the reliability of the survey.

Further, the author of the argument need to look into other factors which are responsible for physical fitness of the person. Just talking walks will not prove to be helpful if the person is not following proper diet. Although, healthy food habits and daily exercise is the key to good health, it is not the only thing which needs to be taken care of and it will be of no use if the person doesn't follow proper schedule. Sporadic eating and irregular exercise schedules may lead to obesity. Good sleep is another factor in fighting obesity. The author mentions nothing

about other lifestyle changes. Unless author considers the factors mentioned above, he can't conclusively state that the people of the city have moved towards healthier lifestyle in the last 7 years.

Moreover, the author claims that several of the gymnasiums have been shut down. What caused the gymnasiums to be shut down?Were they not making profits? Have people moved to other activities? If yes, what are those activities? What fraction of the gym-goers are still involved in some other activity? The argument fails to answer these questions. The author makes an unfair comparison between gymnasiums and sports complexes. While a gymnasium is purely for exercise, a sports complex may be visited by spectators who enjoy watching matches played by other. Also, the sports complex often has a cafeteria. There is no indications of the enrollment of people into activities at sports complex. Thus the footfalls to sports complex may actually represent customers of the cafeteria . Even if we consider that all the people visiting sports complex are involved in some activity, the author tells that the sports complex observes full attendance occasionally. As stated above, such random exercise will not contribute towards a healthy lifestyle.

It is unclear why the author has considered the lifestyle of the city of Slimville and ignored other cities. Is the trend popular only in the city of Slimville? If the author has come up with this argument after great degree of research and delibiration, it is not at all apparent in the argument. Thus the author fails to justify how the

city of Slimville will outstand the national obesity rate. It would have been wise for the author to consider all these points.