18. The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument talks about a solution provided by the business manager of a television station. The station has received complaints about reducing their time devoted to weather and local news and local businesses have also canceled their advertising contract with the station. The business manager suggests that to avoid any further loss they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However, this argument is not cogent and requires some specific pieces of evidence in order to evaluate it properly.

Firstly, the argument does not talk about the viewership of the late-night program. As the percentage of the audience that an advertisement reach depends on the viewership of the show, it is an important factor and cannot be neglected. If the overall viewership has increased then there is no need to make any change in the program schedule.

Secondly, the argument just states that 'most of the complaints' received are concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. The argument fails to provide a concrete figure of the complaints received. If the number of complaints received is low like 25% or 30%, then late-night news program can continue to work as it is working now.

Thirdly, it is important to know when those complaints are received. It is understandable to receive more complaints regarding a change immediately after the change. However, if the number of complaints has not decreased over the past one year, then it would be a good decision to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Fourthly, the television station needs to investigate why exactly the local business canceled their advertising contract. There is a possibility that the local business might be facing some problems cannot afford this advertisement or the businesses might have shut down. Assuming they canceled the contract because of advertisements not reaching to a larger audience will be a flawed assumption.

In conclusion, there are multiple pieces of evidence that the author can provide in order to make his argument more persuasive and cogent. Having these pieces of evidence will help the committee to make a well-informed decision.