2. The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It might seem logical at the first glance that the author’s argument to expand on the weather and the local news to attract more viewers to their television programs. However, the argument is flawed. In order to bolster the author’s argument we need a significant amount of evidences.

To begin, the author’s conclusion is based on the assumption that most of the complaints received were concerned with the local and the weather news; however, the argument is groundless– no evidence to support the claim has been provided by the author. In doing so, the author used the vague and ambitious word like “most”. It seems that the author tried to cite some statistical facts to make his/her assumption convincing. Nevertheless, the author failed to offer the exact number that indicates how many people have complained about the news content of the Television. Not only this, the author has failed to offer whether the complaint were received by same few number of people time and again or from different people from different parts of the town.

Secondly, the argument is based on the assumption that local businesses who used to advertise their content on late news program have cancelled with the Television show. The author fails to give the data about whether the local business person were interested on other television programs due to low-cost for them. As well as, there may be the reasons that television show, they broadcasted might have cause the less interest on the public due to their news speaker.

Thirdly, the author has claimed the strong conclusion based on the weak evidences. There might be the reason that the public on that typical city have been less interested on the radio news programs as they can see the local news and the weather programs on their electronic devices like mobiles, tablets. Similarly, the majority of the public on that town might have changed their routine of television programs due to their busy schedules being tired and show reluctance to the late night news programs. They might want something other programs that may attenuate their daily tiredness.

The argument thus could be strengthened if the author provides the exact evidences and the data as mentioned above. As it stands, however, the argument is not logically convincing for the reasons indicated.