43 The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council Two years ago consultants predicted that West Egg s landfill which is used for garbage disposal would be completely filled within five years During the

The Town Council concludes that available space in the landfill will last longer than it was predicted before by the consultants. To support his conclusion the chairperson points out that recycling has been rising and is predicted to grow as the charges for garbage pickup will double. Moreover, he cites the survey’s results that prove the same. Close scrutiny of this argument, however, reveals that it is logically flawed and more evidence is required for it to be valid.

In order to evaluate the argument, more information about the consultants’ research is required. We need to know if the recycling was taken into account, whether the model was simply based on the historical data or the current trends were included. It could be the case that the two-year-old prediction relies on the data from 10 years ago, then it obviously does not have any value right now. Therefore, without such crucial facts, it is impossible to make any comparisons and draw any conclusions from such a prediction.

As for the survey that the memorandum cites, it cannot be considered convincing as well. First of all, it does not provide a whole number of participants. It is entirely possible that there were only 100 respondents while the population of West Egg is 10,000 times more than that. Secondly, we do not know anything about the respondents: their age, their income and so on. For that matter, perhaps the participants of the survey were teenagers who do not make important decisions in the households, or they could be environmental activists. Unless we know the details of the survey, the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council cannot assume that those 90 percent of the respondents are the ideal representation of the whole town.

Finally, the behavior of citizens cannot be easily predicted as the chairperson thinks. His argument relies on a faulty assumption that if the charges for pickup of household garbage will double, then the recycling will increase. However, this might not be the case. People could start dropping the garbage illegally in the hidden places or, perhaps, even at the landfill just doing it on their own. Accordingly, the Town Council cannot draw any firm conclusion about what effect the increased charges would have on the citizens’ behavior.

In sum, the conclusion is not convincing in several respects. To be more persuasive, the author would need to provide more evidence that the research made by the consultants is valid and we can draw conclusions from it as well as about the survey - the number, age, income and other facts of its respondents and how well they represent the whole town. Finally, to better evaluate the chairperson’s claim we would need solid arguments that the citizens’ behavior will develop as it was predicted in response to the doubled charges.